Surrender the Sky….a Book Eleanor Would Love

Surrender the Sky
Surrender the SkySurrender the Sky by Meradeth Houston
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Because I’ve read one of Houston’s earlier Sary books, THE CHEMISTRY OF FATE, I knew I was in for a treat, and, once again, she did not disappoint! Not usually being a paranormal fan, I was hesitant to read the first book, but Houston’s ability to create worlds and other-worldly beings that are so realistic that you’re looking over your own shoulder for a Sary with wings made me sure I would enjoy this newest book, and I most definitely did.
One of the finest parts of Houston’s writing is her sense of personal voice. The reader feels at one with the heroine, Gabby, empathizing completely with her struggles and her moral dilemmas, of which there are many, as she strives to prevent humans from committing suicide and wrestles with the forbidden attraction to a fellow Sary, the soon-to-be leader. Houston has mastered the YA voice perfectly, the self-deprecating humor, the quick wit and banter, and the reader thoroughly enjoys getting to know her characters. The key to writing believable paranormal must be the descriptions, and Houston excels in this area, as when she writes, “How I’d love to touch his wings!” Her description of love being similar to flying into a warm, golden sunset was truly evocative.
Without a spoiler, all I can say is, if you are willing to try a YA paranormal that will keep you turning the pages as you eagerly – and anxiously – await the resolution of the major moral dilemmas posed and find out what Gabby has decided to do, pick this book out now and download it! Watch those wings behind you, though…..

View all my reviews

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Surrender the Sky….a Book Eleanor Would Love

  1. You rock! Thanks a million trillion!! 🙂

  2. My pleasure, Milady! *curtseys*

Leave a Reply

